February 4th: Heinrich Progress

Well, this weekend was very busy, but I did manage to get in roughly an hour of work on the Ma.K Heinrich that’s been plaguing me for months and months now. Not only that, but I wrecked one part and tried out a new paint technique that I’ll probably end up using on the entire outer armor. First off, I wrecked the pilot’s head. I was trying to work on my wash technique (which still stinks) and I destroyed the paint on the guy’s head. At this point, it’s going to be easier to strip all the paint off his head and try again. Of course, I don’t want to do that because that would be easy compared to the solution I’ve come up with: Let’s paint the other head, instead. Not only that, but the other pilot is wearing a helmet, as opposed to a cloth hat. So let’s try the new paint technique out on that. Actually, it worked so well there that I’m going to employ it on the rest of the build, as well. His helmet also has two little circles on it that look kind of cheap and useless. So I drilled those out and replaced them with beads. Much better.
 
At this point, I’ve gotta fix the paint on everything, finish the head (the second head, mind you), apply decals, weather, build the stand for it, and pose him magnificently. All in time for the big regional IPMS contest in mid March, over in Iowa. Piece o’ cake. Heck… I might have two Ma.K kits done by then.
 
In all seriousness, I have reached the point where I’m actually enjoying working on this kit, so that’s a good sign. With luck (cross your fingers), this link should take you to the gallery for this build. There’s just three pictures in there, as of this writing, but I’ll get better about updating it as I go. If that doesn’t work, just go to the "MaK Heinrich" gallery. All roads lead to Rome.  
Leave a Reply

