Next: Vought F4U-1D Corsair

I suppose it’s time to mention the kit that’s currently on my bench: The Tamiya 1:72 Vought F4U-1D Corsair. It’s for a contest my local IPMS club is having in August. And I’ve finally started work on it. At 1:72 scale, the details are pretty tiny. Fortunately, on this Tamiya kit, they’re amazingling crisp. To the right there is the cockpit assembly. There’s some more pictures here on the blog under the "Vought Corsair" gallery. To take a look at the kit itself, follow this link. The real-world aircraft is a single-engine, single-seat fighter aircraft that also happened to have the longest production run for any aircraft of its type. It was rightfully feared by the Japanese who fought in World War II. It actually has a long and interesting history, but rather than try to relay that here, I’ll just direct you to good ol’ Wikipedia (here).
 
The particular variant of the Corsair I’m building (the F4U-1D) was introduced in 1944 with an upgraded engine over the previous version. The newer engine allowed it to carry additional rockets, as well as an additional fuel drop tank. The total number of Corsairs built was over twelve thousand, while less than 200 were destroyed in actual combat during the War. The Corsair even continued to serve with distinction into the Korean War.
 
Enough about the history–it’s all in the Wiki article, anyways. I’ve been toying with the model for a little over a week now, and still barely have anything done. The cockpit is finished, and the body is assembled, but I still have some major seams to take care of. At any rate, it is progressing. I still have no idea how I’m going to display it at this time, but I’m sure that’ll come to me. Right now I’m thinking it’s going to be on some muddy ground with a pilot next to it. That’s the first thought that pops into my head. At any rate, I’ll keep progress updated.

In other news, I just had my local club meeting on Saturday. Everyone liked my latest Heinrich (Ivan, the "H0.5"), and I ended up with three more kits for the grand price tag of $15–$3 for the raffle and $12 for a pair of airplanes one of the members was selling (1:48 Grumman F3F and 1:72 Japanese "Reppu"). And I learned more about NASA and Saturn rockets than I’ll probably ever remember. Good stuff.
4 Responses to Next: Vought F4U-1D Corsair

  1. Kchusker says:

     
    Thanks for the comments.  Hope you like the corsair.  I am curious how you like those wing seams, hopefully you can do a better job than I did (actually, you couldn\’t do much worse – I really messed it up, twice).  What verison of the -1D are you doing?  Be careful of the kit decals as they are very thick and will be visable.  There is not much in the way in aftermarket decal for the -1D verison.  If I had my -1D to do over again, I would use aftermarket decals for the insigna (you can get decals for the -1A verison easy) and use the kit decals for the ones you cannot get.  See my site (photo ablum) for my Corsair -1D and you can see what I am talking about. 

  2. Mitch Reid says:

    Hi, I’m building the same model. How did you detail the control panel?

    • zerobxu says:

      For the control panel, I actually used a white colored pencil, and then a very fine tipped brush for anything non-white. Sorry for the very delayed response.

      • Mitch Reid says:

        Thanks, I left mine blank not knowing what to do, but that’s a great detailed job you did there. I enjoyed the photos of your build, thanks for your efforts and the reply, even 5 years after the fact.
        Happy modelling.

Leave a Reply

