Corsairs: Awash In Troubles

So I’ve been continuing to work on my Corsairs. And, quite frankly, it’s going pretty badly. I’m trying to get something done on them every night, as I’m quickly running out of time to get them completed. Of course, it doesn’t help when you have to travel out-of-town overnight for work, but you adjust around these little inconveniences.

I’m still working on the shape of the "Doppleganger" (I forgot what I was calling that one for short), but the other one is nearing completion. Or as complete as I can make it. I tried to do a wash the other night, and it went very badly. After the pictures were taken, I took a very wide brush, dipped it in 91% alcohol, wiped it on a paper towel, and then proceeded to brush back and forth (lengthwise) across all the surfaces of the model. That helped a lot. In addition to not-quite fixing the wash effect, it also helped smooth the surface a bit–which had been peppered with an inconsistent gloss coat. For some reason, I just can’t get the gloss to lay flat on this paint. I’m not sure what the problem is, as I’ve never had this sort of problem before. Of course, I’ve never spent this much time on an airplane before, either. After all this is over, I think it may be time to go to an airbrush.

Regardless, things are getting done. I’ve done some detail painting on the wing intakes, and have started the final assembly of the landing gear. The sub-assembly and painting had already been completed. One all that is taken care of, I’ll probably try to do one more gloss coat before applying decals and either giving it a flat coat over the whole affair or a final gloss coat. I suspect it will be a final gloss coat, but we’ll see.

And then, for better or for worse, I can concentrate on trying to get the Doppleganger done before deadline–or before I just opt to throw it in the trash. I’ve got a lot of work to do, but the end is in sight.

Leave a Reply

