Blessed Are The Format Wars

The Xbox 360 is getting a price-drop next week, and you can snag the HD-DVD add-on for $150 at Best Buy and get five free HD-DVD’s. It may be time for me to upgrade my gaming consoles. Probably not, but it’s a nice thought.

In other news, I’m still trying to work on the Corsairs every night. I still hate the way the "stock" Corsair looks. The washes just look awful, and the gloss coat looks lumpy, no matter what I do to it. I think I’m going to hit it with one more gloss coat and then flat-coat the whole thing. I’m hoping that the flat coat will help even out the orange peel a bit, but I’m doubtful. I can’t figure it out… I’ve stripped the paint off it completely down to the bare plastic, re-painted, and reapplied the gloss. Same problem. I’m not going to waste more time trying the whole thing again. I’m just going to do my best to even it out with washes of thinner and hope for the best. By the end of the day, the landing gear will be on it, which will make the overcoat process a much bigger pain in the arse.
 
The Doppleganger is shaping up quite nicely. I’m really pleased with how closely the guns are matching the Crimson Skies art right now. The nose still needs some work, but I’ve been working steadily on this one, as well, and I should be ready to primer most of it within a day or two. My main concern is the engine, which I still haven’t come up with something I like on it yet. I may try to hit a craft store at lunch and see if I can find something amongst their discount kits that will work. A nice bomber, maybe. So far, I’ve incorporated parts from five different kits into this project. And now, I don’t think I’m going to be satisfied unless it looks as good as I can make it.
 
I’m seriously against the wall on getting these done before deadline. Even if I don’t finish them, I’ll put them in the contest. I’d rather have an in-progress entry than nothing to show. Tempus edax rerum.
Leave a Reply

