Doppelganger Almost Done

We’re only a little more than twenty four hours away from the contest. And I think I’m going to make it. I took yesterday (Thursday) as a day of vacation at work. That allowed me to work until 3:30 a.m. Thursday morning and spend all of yesterday working on the planes, as well. The results were well worth it–besides, I have a lot of vacation saved up.  
 
Although this picture doesn’t reflect it, the F4U-1D Corsair is completely finished. After this picture, I believe I hit it with a dull lacquer and then added the canopy parts to it. And then called it done. I won’t be doing a display base for it. In the end, the flat lacquer helped fix some of the "orange peel" problem created by the gloss coat, but I can still see entirely too much evidence of it on the plane. Not my best effort, but I may be crazy enough to enter it in competition sometime. It depends on what else I have finished at the time.
 
The Doppelganger is almost as far along. One of the last things I did before I finally went to bed last night (a little south of 1:30 a.m.) was to glue the canopy on it. Click here to see a picture of it before all the decals had been applied. With this one, I’m going to do a little more with the display. It will have a wooden base (if the clear coat ever dries on the wood), as well as three or four people and some tools all around it. That’s the only real obstacle left at this point is to get the display base for the Doppelganger done. And with a solid evening ahead of me, I think I can do it.
Leave a Reply

