Doppelganger: Finished!

Since my last update, I ended up having to putty around the canopy, as there was a gap. This is probably due to my hollowing out of the originally closed-up cockpit. I also learned why it’s such a horrible-looking kit. Apparently, it was originally a one-piece fuselage and one-piece wings. At some point in the kit’s history, it was converted into a two-piece hollow fuselage and two-piece wings.

I also applied a little bit of cheap weathering behind the exhausts on the engine. "Cheap" meaning that I took a Micron 05 pen, drew some circles behind the exhaust outlet, and smudged it around with a Q-Tip. Cheap, but effective.

And then there was the rest of the display… I ended up using four different figures. There was a Hasegawa WWII German pilot standing near the rear of the fuselage, an Italeri Russian Infantry soldier pacing at the front of the plane, another Russian stooping to peer underneath the wing, and (not pictured) a Hasegawa ground crew guy inspecting the underside of the aircraft. I accidentally lost his left arm (I’m really getting bad about losing parts mid-assembly), so I replaced it with an arm from one of the Russian Infantry–slightly modified so the gun he’d been carrying might look more like an aircraft part. The quality of the 1:72 Italeri guys was pretty amazing, really. After a crude wash, their facial features really stood out. I’m looking forward to using more of these.

I didn’t like the feel of the woodstain on the wooden base (later learning that I was supposed to sand it again after applying the stain and before applying the clear coat), so I went to Plan B. I grabbed another circular wooden base, dyed it with india ink, cut out a piece of styrene, scribed a couple lines into it, and then just painted & weathered it. Also present on the base are a toolbox from the Hasegawa ground crew set and a crate from a Hasegawa M3 Stuart tank. I was going to add a couple more things, but they just looked too out of place and cluttered up the thing.

So… How’d it do in the contest? Pretty good, actually. Remember, this was only an in-club contest–and we were supposed to bring 1:72 Corsairs. Not counting the guy who brought a Hot Wheels Corvair, mine was definitely the most oddball entry. Fortunately, I also appeased them with the "stock" Corsair–built alongside the Doppelganger.

Surprisingly, there were another half-dozen Corsairs present from club members. This was a bit of a shock, as the regular turn-out for a club meeting is roughly a dozen members, and most of those guys are much bigger on collecting than they are on building. Of course, they’ve been putting kits together longer than I’ve been alive (I’m 34, so that’s saying something), and their Corsairs were impressive, to say the least.

In the end, my Doppelganger took 3rd Place, and my Corsair didn’t rate. Considering how it stood out in that sea of blue, I’m thrilled with the results. In closing, I’ll see if I can list all of the different kits that supplied parts to the Doppelganger and its base:

  • 1:72 Testors F4U-1 Corsair (x2)
  • 1:72 ?? B-25J
  • 1:72 Academy(?) P-51 Mustang
  • 1:48 Revell P-40B
  • 1:72 Italeri T-62 Russian tank
  • 1:35 Tamiya WWII Allied weapons/accessories
  • 1:72 Hasegawa M3 Stuart light tank
  • 1:72 Hasegawa WWII Pilots
  • 1:72 Hasegawa Modern Pilots & Ground Crew
  • 1:72 Italeri Russian Infantry (Winter)

…Leftover parts will either go into a quickly upcoming project, or into the spares bin for now.

It may be awhile before I get decent pictures of the finished product posted–I’m in the (mental) process of putting together a better photography station for finished models. I’ll also finish this round o’ modeling out with an after-action on the Corsair very soon. Thanks for reading.

One Response to Doppelganger: Finished!

  1. Kchusker says:

    The Doppelganger looks pretty cool – you have alot more creativity than I will ever have.  By the way, if you check out Modeling Maddess (www.modelingmadness.com), Scott just finished uplaoding all the pictures from the Western Missouri Model Show and I believe several of your models were in there also (last one was uploaded on August 15). 
     
    Again, the Dopplganger looks great and you ought to plan entering it into future constests.  Later 

Leave a Reply

