From Safonov To Krychevsky

Well, I hit a little snag with the Poplikarov I-16 project. Namely, I wrecked the Safonov marking decals (long story). Fortunately, the decal sheet carries the markings for no less than nine different I-16’s. In the end, I opted for the markings of Lt. Krychevsky’s I-16 Type 24, as flown over the Leningrad Front during 1943.
 
Now… The problem is that I can’t find one lick-spittle of information on this pilot. There’s one reference to him in a corrupted file on a Russian message board. Outside of that, nothing. I even managed to find a list of Soviet World War II aces on Wikipedia (here), and he’s not on the list–which is interesting as he has five kill-marks on the side of his plane.
 
So… I have no idea what to do. I actually emailed the model manufacturer to see if they know anything. I’ll be thrilled if I get a reply, actually, as they’re a Russian company. I’m hoping that enough emails come in–and in English–that they have someone around there who can translate and pass along the information. Most likely, the name ("Krychevsky") is mis-spelled. Hopefully, they can point me in the direction of the correct spelling and/or some information on the pilot. Regardless, I think I’m going to call this one "done". Too bad I can’t figure out who flew this particular bird.
 
Now… What’s next?
5 Responses to From Safonov To Krychevsky

  1. Kchusker says:

    That little bird looks pretty cool, you did a pretty job on it.   

  2. Kchusker says:

    That little bird looks pretty cool, you did a pretty job on it.   

  3. Kchusker says:

    That little bird looks pretty cool, you did a pretty job on it.   

  4. Kchusker says:

    That little bird looks pretty cool, you did a pretty job on it.   

  5. treelady says:

    HI..popped in to read a bit… I did a couple of searches too..Not a thing out there that I could find other than a message board in russian.. try asking over on yahoo answers… sometimes someone out there might know.
    Have a Great weekend!
     

Leave a Reply

