Next: Anti-Gravity Racer

Well, I don’t have any finished pictures (good ones, at any rate) of anything I’ve done lately. But that doesn’t stop me from moving on to the Next Big Thing. In this case, I’m participating in another "Group Build". The theme of this one is "Sci-Fi GPX" (Grand Prix). And it gives me the perfect opportunity to attempt something I’ve been wanting to do for years and years: Build an anti-gravity racing machine from the "Wipeout" series of video games (click here for the related Wikipedia entry). In short, this series of games has been around since the late ’90’s, and was originally a graphics and gameplay showcase for the very first Playstation. Since then, it’s evolved onto at least four other consoles, with plans for more on the way. It’s a series with history, and I’ve always been a fan of that. In addition, it’s always had a very distinct visual style and soundtrack, which have drawn me in that much more. Think of Star Wars "pod racing", but with sleeker, prettier machines, on a course that looks more like a roller coaster ride… And with weapons galore. Now you’ve got "Wipeout".
 
Like I mentioned, I’ve been a fan for awhile now, and always wanted to build a Wipeout racer. Till now, I just didn’t think I had the skills to go forward with a full-on scratch-build like this. I still don’t think I have the skills, but I’m going to try it anyways. I’ve been a fan of the series of games for enough time that I have a general idea of what the various team crafts look like. Based on that (and my personal favorites from the game) I really wanted to do an Auricom craft. Unfortunately, I just don’t think I can do that one justice. Yet. Looking at the various spare parts I had lying around ("spare parts" means "kits I’m willing to completely sacrifice to the cause"), I opted to go with an Icaras craft. Specifically, I’m going to go after a close approximation to their SG-FX300 craft from "Wipeout Pure". It’s not going to be a perfect representation, but hopefully it’ll be recognizable by fans of the series (should they ever happen to see it).
 
So far, progress has been extra-slow. I’ve accumulated some parts, made some blueprint sketches, and (yesterday) finally started gluing some of those parts together. Mainly, it’s going to consist of parts from a 1:72 Revell F-14 Tomcat and a 1:72 Hasegawa Harrier. As you might guess, the racer will be in 1:72 scale. I’ve found this to be the easiest scale for me to work in. The rest of the racer will either be scratched from styrene or just odds-and-ends from other kits. I’ll try to get some in-progress pictures up soon.
Leave a Reply

