Puttering Along…

Since "Oktoberfest", I haven’t really pushed that hard on getting anything completed… Or even really started. The closest I have to a new project is that I’ve picked up a Maschinen Krieger "Fireball" and slowly started some progress on it. It’s going to be an out-of-box build, but I’m going to make it as good as I can do it. So far, there’s not a lot done to report on. Just the little area where the pilot’s head goes, since I’m going to display it with the top hatch (and side hatch) open.
 
Thanks to a recent birthday, I’ve got several new models to putter with, as well as some of the supplies I need to start messing with resin casting. I’m pretty thrilled by the idea of trying it out. I just need to pick up the much-needed rubber mold-making material first. Hopefully, I’ll be able to find it at either Michael’s craft store or HobbyTown USA–as Hobby Lobby came up short. They had molding clay, but that’s really only good for very particular types of resin casting–and I haven’t come up with a good way to test that yet. Regardless, I am really looking forward to messing around with resin casting.
 
So, with winter winding up, there’s a lot that needs to be done around the house. Modeling needs to take a back seat for awhile while more important things get done. Of course, I’ll still putter with it in what time I have. Hopefully, I’ll even get the Fireball done before too long. I’ll try to put up some progress shots here.
Leave a Reply

