Working From The Road

I’ve been out of town for the last five days, but I’m now back. And, since I had adequate time to prepare for my little excursion, I packed up all the supplies I thought I needed, and brought a model with me.
 
Pictured to the right is what my temporary workstation looked like. I’d pretty-well taken over an island in the kitchen to get the job done. In the end, I managed to forget to bring my alcohol  (to be used as paint thinner) and didn’t have a lacquer overspray. Of course, the two places I went looking for 91% alcohol looked at me like I was crazy, and I had to settle for 70% alcohol. I don’t think it worked quite as well, but it did work, so I can’t really complain. It also seemed easier to clean the paint out of the paint tray, but I’m not sure if that had more to do with the alcohol or just with me keeping on top of cleaning the paint tray. Outside of that, it seemed that I actually had packed every modeling supply I needed and a few that I didn’t. I’ll put that experience to use the next time I go "on the road" with modeling.
 
The project, if you look at the photo cloesly enough, was another Maschinen Krieger model. A Heinrich. And yes, I made "Geech" the pilot/operator on this one. I started it late Sunday afternoon and finished it Tuesday evening. It still needs some minor touch-up work, but it’s all over and done–save some very minor detailing. Between everything else that was going on for those three days, I’m somewhat astounding that I managed to do this in a three-day turnaround. I guess that anything (any build) is possible if you really apply yourself.
 
The build was completely OOB–no modifications made to the kit itself. The paint job was a little more unique. I tried my luck at hand-painting a camo pattern. And I’ve gotta say that I don’t think he turned out too badly. Now that he’s back home, I need to stain a piece of wood and get some Celluclay formed up to have a base for him to stand on. Won’t be doing anything too fancy, but I do want him to look decent when he stands amongst his Maschinen Krieger comrades on the "display shelf" ("bookcase").
 
I am really happy with the way that this particular model turned out, so I’ll be trying to get some decent pictures of him up soon.
Leave a Reply

