Huey Kit Roundup

I haven’t done a thing on the Huey over the past few days, but I did receive kits #4 and #5 over the weekend. This is becoming a bit silly at this point, so let’s take stock of what I’ve got (all of these are in 1:72 scale):
 
  • Huey UH-1C Gunship (Italeri): This was the first one I ordered, before I had done much research on the subject or really talked to the person who I would ultimately end up building a Huey for. In short, this one is all wrong because this one didn’t have a "gunner" position, but it does seem to be a fairly accurate build. Also, the markings are simple but seem appropriate for the era.
  • UH-1D "Slick" (Italeri): This is what I thought was going to be my main build. As it turns out, the actual "correct" Huey was most likely a UH-1H. I may end up using the interior from this and sticking it in the UH-1H, however. Or maybe I’ll just convert this to a UH-1H. That’s probably the best bet. They’re not that different on the outside. And the differences should be easy enough to reproduce. Note that both Italeri kits (and the Hasegawa kit) have the front cargo doors molded onto the body, so removing them will require kit surgery.
  • Huey UH-1H Iroquois (Hasegawa): This is the kit that I’ve already started. By visual inspection, it also appears to be the worst of the bunch. I’m basing that solely on the amount of flash present. And there is a lot of it. The cockpit seats are not Vietnam era, so they’ll either need to be modified or replaced. It comes with no U.S. markings for the Vietnam era. There’s no cabin seating whatsoever, so I’m not sure what I’m going to do about that yet. In short, this is a great kit to practice on, but I hope it doesn’t become my "good" one.
  • Bell 205/UH-1N (AeroPlast): This is interesting, because the UH-1N is the twin-engined variant of the Huey. My understanding of things is that it was created as a specific requirement for Canada and the Canadian climate. I haven’t had a real good chance to go over this iteration (the AeroPlast kits were the ones that arrived this weekend), but I can tell you that one thing I really like about it is that the front cargo door is not molded to the body. That scores all kinds of points right there. The whole kit design is significantly different from the more mainstream offerings. If I can figure out some way to put a UH-1H engine on this, it may be my go-to-kit.
  • Huey UH-1N Desert Storm (AeroPlast): I haven’t even cracked the plastic shrink-wrap on this one yet, but I suspect it’s identical–in all but the decals–to the other UH-1N. I take that back–there may be some difference in the engine exhaust, too, based on the cover pictures. This was actually advertised on the website as a UH-1H, which is why I picked it up. I’m not sure how useful it’s going to be as a second UH-1N.
The funny thing is that I started the Hasegawa UH-1H Huey as a practice for doing the UH-1D as a very accurate model. After further research, the UH-1H is probably the right model for the historical reproduction. And I don’t know what I’m going to do with the UH-1D. More importantly, what am I going to do with two UH-1N’s? That wasn’t part of the plan at all. It looks like I may be more decals from Fireball Modelworks to go along with the twin-engined Hueys. At this point, all I know is that I’ve got more Hueys than I need, and I’m not quite sure what to do with ’em all.
Leave a Reply

