Different 1:1 Scale Model

Back in February, I introduced a 1:1 scale model I’d completed. Today, I’m going to report on a very different 1:1 scale model I’ve been working on. This is more of a 1:1 scale architectural model than it is anything else. Okay, let’s call it what it is: A man-cave.
 
I recently had another change of address–this one will be semi-permanent, if not more so. Along with that change of address came a completely unfinished basement. Great for many things, but not much good for modeling. Yet. In fact, I really haven’t done any work on models since that last entry. I know where some of them are–and that’s a start.
 
More importantly, I’ve enlisted the help of (or have I been enlisted by?) in-laws to create a workspace in the basement. The result is a very modest 11′ x 15′ room, complete with nine electrical outlets, satellite television, and speaker wire run through the studs (gotta have surround sound).
 
Since Monday night, we’ve framed three walls (didn’t have to worry about one of them), run electrical wires all the way upstairs to the fuse box, hung insulation, and–just yesterday–put up drywall. Tonight, we’re planning to put in the ceiling and maybe even apply some joint compound.
 
I’ve got paint purchased (a custom color), and all sorts of plans for the future of this room. In fact, I can’t wait to share ’em–but I’m going to wait. For now, let me just say that this has been a great learning experience and this is going to be one fantastic little "man-cave" when it’s all said and done. 1:1 scale modeling takes a lot longer, but it sure is worth it.
Leave a Reply

