Massive Photo Update

I’ve uploaded about eighty new pictures to various areas of the Photo Galleries. I spent some time with the good digital camera last night and took some reasonably decent pictures of some reasonably medicore models. Here’s the breakdown:
1/144 HGUC Gaza-C:

For more images, just check the BAKUC Gallery page.
OOB build… The base was the one I originally intended for a different build, but it didn’t work with the feet of that model, so I hung on to it until I had a chance to start the Gaza-C

1/72 M3 Stuart:

More… Picture 1, Picture 2, Picture 3, Picture 4, Picture 5, Picture 6
This was more of a practice for washes than anything else. Horribly inaccurate kit, but not too bad to build. It took 3rd in 1/72 AFV’s at the IPMS Regional Contest this year.

1/20 Ma.K. Fireball:

More… Picture 1, Picture 2, Picture 3, Picture 4, Picture 5, Picture 6
The Fireball is almost OOB. I used styrene for the periscope tubes, replaced the hatch hinge (which I busted–ugh), and added wires to the engine. The mechanic is a 1/20 Tamiya pit crew figure. I did my first ever sculpt modification to change his arm position. I also gave him some pants (because, apparently Tamiya pit crews think it’s nifty to wear hot pants), and added some other details to his outfit–like pockets, patches, and belt "boxes". Not great, but I’m pleased with it for being my first attempt. The base was made using "double-diamond plate"(?) styrene–in 1/24th scale, if I rememeber right. I painted it Flat Aluminum, masked off the areas, hand-painted the stripes (within the mask) and then weathered the whole mess.

1/20 Ma.K. Heinrich:

More… Picture 1, Picture 2, Picture 3, Picture 4
I affectionately call him "Geech", because that just seems like the kind of name this pilot would have. Built OOB, while I was in Cedar Rapids, Iowa last year helping my father recovery from a pair of knee replacement surgeries. He managed to take 3rd in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Figures at the IPMS Regional Contest this year.

1/76 Ma.K. Nutrocker:

More… Picture 1, Picture 2, Picture 3, Picture 4, Picture 5, Picture 6, Picture 7
The Nutrocker was OOB, other than the three vertical aerials I added (stretched sprue). Painting the camo involved masking, hand-painting, and a lot of fixing. So… Hand-painting camo like that by hand is do-able, but a pain in the arse. The soldiers are 1/72 Russian infantry (winter uniform) and the Heinrich was scrapped together from styrene, Milliput, spare parts, and a 1/72 ground crew figure.

Another 1/20 Ma.K. Heinrich:

More… Picture 1, Picture 2, Picture 3, Picture 4, Picture 5, Picture 6, Picture 7
This one goes back over a year, I think. Added a wire for his headphones (which doesn’t look that good, if you ask me), added some short pieces of styrene tube for a panzerfaust holder on his back, and constructed a second panzerfaust launcher from styrene. Also replaced one ankle cover which was eaten by the Carpet Monster.

1/144 Tiger I (Initial Production):

More… Picture 1, Picture 2, Picture 3, Picture 4, Picture 5, Picture 6, Picture 7
I love these little 1/144 Dragon armor kits. This kit is actually over 20 pieces, and was a whole lot of fun to build, paint, decal, and weather. It’s also a great eye-catcher at contests.

1/72 Polikarpov I-16:

More… Picture 1, Picture 2, Picture 3, Picture 4, Picture 5
I’m not thrilled with the way this one came out. Although, it looks crappy and hand-painted, that’s a pretty good reflection of its real-world counterpart. The real-world inspiration for this one was hand-painted in winter camo, and then re-painted in Spring. Not my best work, but not my worst.

1/144 Morser Odin:

More… Picture 1, Picture 2, Picture 3, Picture 4, Picture 5, Picture 6
Another 1/144 Dragon kit–it even comes with a German artillery crew. I liked this one enough to shell out $10 for the little brass plate you see on the display.

Larger images are available in the various photo galleries, if you’re so inclined.

Leave a Reply

