Laundry Night Heinrich Progress

Is there anything finer than spending a few hours working on the hobby you love? Yes. Lots of things. However, we live in an imperfect world. It does feel good to be making regular progress on this build, though.
 
On to some progress… Monday night, I didn’t get anything done. Too busy parenting and then falling asleep watching Anthony what’s-his-name on the Travel Channel because I was waiting to see Ted Nugent. Not a fan–there was just nothing else on television. Last night, however, I spent some time on both the gun and the Heinrich build. First off, Skinnybob gave me these great references–which I printed out, and used as a guide:

Those images led me to the creation of this:

It’s all Evergreen styrene and metal pipe at this point. If you look at the reference photos, you can definitely see I was going for something very, very similar to what’s shown there. I did, however, add some channel styrene at the top and the bottom just to give some depth to the sides. I’m not sure where it’s going from here, but I probably won’t stray too far from a combination of the reference images. And yes, that probably means putting a clip of some sort on the top. Hopefully this isn’t quite as "sci-fi" as the last one.

I also put in some time on the Heinrich. This was just a matter of applying Mr. Surfacer 500 to the whole thing and then just dabbing it, as it started to dry, with a crappy paint brush. The result is serious–and intentional–"orange peel" effect.

Finally, here’s the Heinrich’s gun-arm. I haven’t done any work on it since the weekend, but I didn’t manage to get a picture of it posted at that time. The extra bits are aluminum tube, copper rod, half a drop tank, and other assorted bits.

I don’t think I’m going to have any time to work on this in the next two days. When I do get back to it, however, I need to get going on the Heinrich butt piece and legs so I can attach the skirt pieces. I’m also going to try to finish off the new gun and get going on re-sculpting that pit crew guy. So much left to do, so little time to do it!

Using a good camera makes a helluva difference!

Leave a Reply

