Heinrich II: COMPLETE

Stick a fork in it…

To read the whole nine-month nightmare from the beginning, scroll through the blog or click here. To sum it up… I started building a variation of a Maschinen Krieger "Heinrich" from scratch in January. After several pitfalls and innovations, I managed to get the thing done. The torso consists of a 1/48 Hughes helicopter, while other parts are mostly build from styrene tube, strips, angles, and everything else. There’s also two fake fingernails and a ping pong ball that made donations to the overall build–just like in the original.

And I’m very pleased to say that I’m done with it… For now.

I called it quits last night (this morning?) around 1:30 a.m. or so. It’s a far cry from perfect, but I think he comes fairly close to his "real-kit" counterpart:


Larger comparison picture

And here’s some larger pictures:

Walkaround: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6

Other shots: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5

As you can (hopefully?) tell from the pictures, I’ve completed the painting and weathering process on this Heinrich scratch-build. The only thing I’m not thrilled with was his little built-in scope on the canopy. My plan was to paint it Chrome Silver and paint over that with Clear Red. And that effect works great for signal lights on airplanes and other small pieces, but it looked like crap here. I even tried painting Smoke over the Clear Red. Still awful. So, I carefully stripped that out and painted it again in gloss black. It could still use improvement, but the results are much more tolerable. What I’d like to do is use a piece of shiny party confetti, but I haven’t stumbled across it yet. So, for now, the Heinrich itself is done.

The base isn’t done, the other guy isn’t done, but the suit is–and that was the ultimate goal of this Group Build. So… Mission accomplished?

Conclusions… I can’t believe I started this back in January. Granted, it’s been a busy year, but I hope I’m never staring steadily at an ongoing project for such a long period of time again. I burned out on the whole thing several different times, but somehow always managed to get back into it. I think part of what killed me here (mentally) was wanting to stick as close as possible to certain elements of the Heinrich and having to make several "creative evolutions" in order to reach what I was striving for. Ultimately, nothing about this was terribly easy. I’m still glad I did it, as I learned a helluva lot, but I’m looking forward to building a nice, long line of OOB or nearly OOB kits for a good, long while now.

The spoon project? I’m just going to keep that one "fun".

Leave a Reply

