Moving Forward: That Fliege Thing

There was a moment of hesitation (or two) where I thought that I might not get back into the scale modeling thing so quickly, but I managed to keep with it for a couple hours last night.
 
While the resin kit is still soaking in the degreaser (I didn’t really have an available sink to scrub it off in), I poked away at the Fliege-thing. I didn’t really get much done on it. I think I spent more time trying to figure out exactly where I’m going with this kit at this point than I actually spent building on it. I did, however, make just a tiny bit of building progress–as well as more clearly determined what assmebly work had been done prior to my receiving the kit.
 
It looks like I’ll be needing to pick up some new styrene tube for the hatch (I don’t have the right diameter). And I cracked open another 1/48 Hughes helicopter kit to get the parts I need for a Gustav/Nixe styled left forearm, so now I can start another scratch-built Heinrich sometime down the road (I’ve already got ideas rattling around for that one). I’m not going for a dynamic pose with this thing, so I may actually opt to keep the stock joints. I haven’t quite gotten that far yet. More progress will most assuredly follow. And hopefully, I’ll soon get past the point where I’m trying to figure out what I’m doing and just be working on doing it.
 
The Fliege has a special place in my heart, as it was the first Ma.K. kit I ever bought and the first Ma.K. kit I ever built. It was also the most challenging, frustrating, and rewarding model I’ve built before or since. So I want to do this thing justice.
Leave a Reply

