Wannabe Gans Progress

Look! I did stuff!

Let’s see… First, I fixed all of the flash and most of the air bubbles. I haven’t hit it with primer yet, so I’m sure I’ll end up doing some more work on those areas.

After that, I went into the spares box and replaced that rail gun with a pair of resin rocket tubes (they should look familiar to someone around here). I’m envisioning this thing as more of a recon unit than a point-defense unit, so it’s lightly armed. This also keeps the head from tilting to one side, due to the massive weight of that other gun. For the moment, I’m sticking with the general Ma.K. theory of just one weapon system per unit, but that may change. I also added some resin piston-like things (also from the spares box) to the backs of the upper legs, for a more Gans-like appearance.

Next, I put some machine screws into the feet–to look similar to (without exactly duplicating) whatever is on the Gans there. I used #6 hex head machine screws, 5/8" and just glued #6 washers to them. Since they were machine screws, I had to drill a hole in the top of the feet large enough to where I could actually somewhat thread them in. It works. I’m probably going to fill in the screwdriver "slot" on top of the screws with putty so they look less like a screw and more like a… carriage bolt, I guess. For what it’s worth, this wasn’t just something I pulled out of "Zero’s Big Box of Random Hardware". I actually looked at the Wave Gans part, went to the hardware store, and this was as close as I could get. I suspect a #4 screw would probably work better here, but I couldn’t find any in that same "style".

I think that, after that, I just started sticking parts on the head of the thing. As big as that head is, I envisioned the top of the head having various fiddly bits similar to that of a modern battle tank. So, I’ve added some antenna: There was a small one from a 1/35 Tamiya M41 Bulldog and two larger ones made from 3/8" styrene tube and brass wire. I’ve put a photo-etch grill over the intake on the top (which you can barely see in the picture–sorry). And I’ve added that periscope-sight thing from the 1/48 Hughes 500MD helicopter.

Other bits I’ve added are just some parts from the 1/35 Bulldog and a 1/72 Dragon Bradley, as well as sticking three pieces of styrene tube in the front of the head. I think that’s about it for the modifications I’ve made so far, but I’m planning to do quite a bit more. There’s hydraulic hoses that need to run from the leg pistons. There’s the joint armor for the legs, as well as any other details I decide to add to the legs. I need to add more fiddly bits to every side of the head, with the rear being the most lacking right now.

I also took to it with two coats of Mr. Surfacer 500 last night–dabbing it on various places on the Gans where I felt a cast look might be appropriate. I missed one spot, but I’ll come back and hit that the next time I pick this up.

It’s pretty clear what I need to do next, but looking further down the road I see two obstacles:

  1. I have no idea what color to paint this thing. I really like the stripes that a lot of folks are giving their Gans, so I may "run with the herd" on that. As long as the dominant color of the whole thing isn’t dark yellow (a color I favor entirely too much) or gray, it should be fine.
  2. The part of the body below the head of the Gans looks mighty uninteresting. On the "standard" Gans, this is filled up with lovely missile tubes. I’m not sure what I’m going to do here yet, but I haven’t ruled out a secondary weapon system, just to fill up that empty space a little bit. It’s probably not as evident in the picture, but it really jumps out and grabs you when you’re staring at the thing on a workbench.

… And that’s pretty-much where the Wannabe Gans is at, as of this morning. Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Leave a Reply

