Trying To Prove I Really Am Modeling Again…

Well… The Wildcat is just waiting for me to mask off the windows and hit it with some lacquer. And then I think you can call it done. I even snatched a tiny piece from the jaws of the carpet monster to finish it. And it doesn’t look great. "So-so" at best, but I can live with that.
 
With that more-or-less completed, I’ve attempted to move on to something new. And I’ve taken a lot of kits out, looked at them, and put them back on the shelf. There was the 1/144 UH-60 Blackhawk helicopter kit, the 1/700 IJN Battleship Hiei, and a 1/43 car kit. All looked interesting, yet I couldn’t commit to cutting plastic from the sprue, for whatever reason. Instead, I’ve gone back to a kit that I last mentioned in October and hadn’t even technically started: The Gustav. Yet another Maschinen Krieger model, but I haven’t done a Gustav before, so I’m looking forward to this Heinrich-based variant.
 
I’ve only started the torso, but it looks like the kit should go together relatively well. Certainly a better fit than than first Ma.K. kit I worked on four years ago. I’ve decided to make the interior color a Tamiya "Neutral Gray" for no particular reason, but the exterior color is undecided at that point. I’m actually toying with the idea of using a Fallschirmjäger camo pattern, but we’ll see how that pans out.
 
I also need to get a decent cast of a different head, as I don’t want to stick "Geech" in this one. Hopefully, I’ll keep pushing forward on this. And I’ll probably tackle a SAFS next–I just realized that I have four of those kits sitting around unbuilt.
 
Onward and upward…
Leave a Reply

