Soft-Boiled Update On A Hard-Boiled Build

I need to remember that my cell phone was built by Motorola–not Nikon or Canon. Regardless, I keep taking (and posting) pictures I’ve captured with it. I’m getting better, but these pictures will never be useful for anything but blurry progress shots. I’ve found that backing up quite a bit and reducing the size of the photo to 50% (after cropping) seems to help quite a bit.
 
… Of course, that’s neither here nor there. As you can see in the picture to the right, I actually put some paint on that base. For the colors and outward appearance ("weathering"), I’ll be heavily relying on that same reference picture mentioned in at least the last two previous posts. Thus, the Tamiya "NATO Green" pillar. The cement color for the base was achieved by a mix of around 3:1 of Sky Gray and Flat White. In the reference picture, the cement is very lightly colored and I wanted to replicate that as best I could.
 
The next steps on the base are the ones I’m looking forward to the most: washes & weathering. First, the washes to bring out the details, such as the seams in the concrete and the faux-cracking near the pillar. After that, I’m going to try my hand at playing with MIG pigments. I was sent a very generous sampling of their new sci-fi pigments a while back (short write-up here) and I’ve never had a chance to try them out. So… after reviewing the DVD on how to use their pigment line for weathering, I think I’m ready to give this a shot. Hilarity may ensue.
 
I’ll save my exact plans for a future progress report (so I can comment on how they actually turned out), but the reference photo contains several different fades on the concrete as well as some dust accumulated in the corners of the pillar. Hopefully, I can replicate that appearance through the use of pigments. We’ll see–very shortly–if I’m right.
Leave a Reply

