A Few Irons In The Fire…

Believe it or not, I’m still modeling. Not a ton, but probably more than I have been. I’ve made a lot of progress on that other project that I still can’t talk about, but I’ve got a new one lined up and partially started. And I can talk about this one.
 
The kit is a 1/20 resin kit that I recently acquired as part of a pile of Maschinen Krieger kits. The authenticity of the kit is in question, but the parts quality is pretty good (with one big exception) and the fit isn’t too bad. References are very hard to come by, but I’ve found a few. And, with my obvious interest in Maschinen Krieger, making this kit is a little something special.
 
Why? The kit is the MK 41 (that’s "Maschinen Krieger Type 41"), which was designed by Kow Yokoyama and appeared in Model Graphix magazine in late 1984 and early 1985. While it was never made into a plastic model kit (as far as I can tell), it’s been popular among fans and occasionally shows up as very limited run resin kits.
 
It’s not technically part of the Maschinen Krieger universe. Instead, it’s part of a short series known as "Blech Mann". Based on my limited knowledge, it would appear the series takes place in both 1942 and 2156. Obviously, the Mk 41 is from the far end of that time period.
 
As I said above, the kit seems like it’s average to slightly above average. With no instructions and only internet photos to work with, it took a little bit of trial-and-error to determine how the feet went together. And I’m still not 100% sure I have the parts for the hand figured out right. Aside from that, I’ve got basically three things I need to work out: (1) The seam on the torso is requiring a LOT of work to disappear. I’m getting there. Just not very quickly. (2) Can’t find a part for the gun barrel. I’ll assume there wasn’t one. I’ve already got a back-up plan. (3) I snapped the ammo belt piece in half. It was brittle, and the cast was ridiculously poor anyways. I’ve got a couple alternatives, but we’ll see how they pan out.
 
Progress pictures will follow…
Leave a Reply

