Mel: Painting/Construction Done… Mostly.

Yeah… I just don’t know where I’m going with this thing at this point. My attempts at peeling paint have resulted in a funky, funky camo scheme:

I used a 1/0(?) brush to lay some heavily thinned Sea Blue around the edges of the green, then used a 10/0 brush to do the same thing closer to the green with NATO Brown, and then a 5/0 brush to just run plain thinner (91% isopropyl alcohol) around that same track. And… It ended up looking like camo. Except that the hull red is very textured–and I’ve got no problem with that–and the green is smooth. It definitely didn’t achieve the "peeled paint" look I was going for. I kinda like it, though. It’s like someone painted a camo scheme over a rusted hulk. The problem is that I have no idea what to do about markings…

I also attached the skirt armor to the front, left, and rear–which was a bit of a pain, but I made it work. Finally, I added an antenna that I’m pretty happy with. Thin rod for the main antenna. Beading wire coiled around a slightly thicker rod and then slipped over the top of the "antenna" for the spring at the bottom. First time I’ve been pleased with an antenna I’ve built.

(this project is all about the learning & experimenting)

At this point, I’m calling the painting and body work virtually "done"–minus a couple touch-ups. Next up is markings and washes. Speaking of markings, can anybody read Russian? I’ve got this nice sheet of WWII Soviet tank markings, but–other than a couple of words–I have no idea what they say. I know "??" is "for", and "" is "death"–and I only know that because both of those were on Safanov’s Polikarpov I-16.

Thanks for taking the time to read this. It should all be over soon…

Leave a Reply

