Speeder Bike: Finished

Friday night and Saturday morning, I pushed hard and finished the Speeder Bike project. It didn’t turn out exactly as I envisioned, but I’m pretty pleased with the results. 

I may come back to it and clean up a few things… but probably not. We’ll see how it goes. I’m pretty pleased, overall, with how it turned out. I was able to mount him to the base by only his left foot, using a 1/16″ brass rod in there to help support the weight. The front end is dipped down a little more than I’d planned–thus I may come back and work on the base. I think it works with the “at-rest” pose okay, though. The paint’s not perfect, but it’s good enough where I can walk away from it with a bad taste in my mouth.

For the base, I just dyed a $0.99 wooden base using colored ink. The material on the base is Celluclay. I drilled about a half-dozen quarter inch holes in the top of the base to give the Celluclay something to grip to keep it from shrinking up as it dried.

Here’s the pictures:


(I fixed that splash of paint on his arm after I took the picture)

The goggles, of all things, turned out exactly how I wanted them to. For the lenses, I painted them gunmetal, and then painted clear green over that. The effect was exactly what I was shooting for.

Eventually, I’ll probably build a couple more “bikes” along these lines. This was fun, and made good use of those Tamiya pit crew figures. Last night, I was playing with various arm/leg/torso combinations, and I know I can get at least two more “bikers” out of a set of them. Not only that, but there’s a certain appeal to making the citizens/civilians of Earth 2887 in the “Maschinen Krieger” universe.

Leave a Reply

