Sunday Morning Daddy/Daughter Model Project

Once again, my daughter and I took to the workbench on Sunday and tackled a pair of Italeri 1/72 “fast assembly” Pz. Kpfw. V Panther Ausf. G tanks. Each tank has a total of twelve parts, so assembly was a breeze–which gave her more time to pick out her colors. We opted to go with color schemese that–to the best of my knowledge–the Germans never actually used on their tanks. And we didn’t get them finished yet, but we’re working on it.

I was very pleased with her paint technique. I showed her how to get paint on the brush, get the excess paint OFF the brush, and then apply the paint to the model. I don’t remember showing her how to get paint on her shirt, though, and she certainly managed to do plenty of that, too.

And, at the end of it all, we had a pair of very colorful tanks in progress. Having a lot of fun with this. I’m letting my daughter pick out the colors for my tank, but I think I’ll pick the camo pattern to use with them.


Quick Review: Italeri 1/72 Pz. Kpfw. V Panther Ausf. G “Fast Assembly” Kit

I found this on Saturday at our local HobbyTown USA for 50% off, which brought it down to just under $10. Considering you get two complete kits in the box, it’s not a bad deal.

The kits: Flash was minimal, assembly was straightforward, and details were good but not great. You will need glue–these aren’t snap-together. If you’re using this for anything other than tabletop gaming, you’re also probably going to want to drill out the cannon barrel. A 1/16″ drill bit in a pin vise does the job just fine. Each tank consists of a dozen pieces (although the headlight is nearly hidden on the sprue).

If you’re looking for some armor painting practice (or if you want to do a father-and-child build), this is a pretty great way to go.

Leave a Reply

